Pili Nut

Have you heard of or tasted pili nut candies?

image

You can find this wonderful tree here at Sorsogon City, Philippines (Bicol region). When I was a kid I used to climb the pili tree to pick a lot of these nuts. Of course I can’t do that anymore now.

image

I just love eating the fresh green pili fruit after cracking up its hard nut. What a feat of challenge! If you think cracking open roasted Chinese or American nuts is a challenge, try the pili nut and you’d know what I mean. It’s worth the effort because the pili nuts tastes so good! I like it better than the pili nut candy.

image

image

Here at my home province you can have all the pili nuts for free. But, you have to climb the tree yourself to pick the fruits. Hahaha! Just kidding!

Leave a Reply

